July 21, 2022
Charlotte FC v Chelsea, Friendly: Live Blog, Highlights

UPDATE: The doors have reopened and fans are allowed in. The new kick-off time is 8:35 p.m. local time (EDT), which is 65 minutes after the originally scheduled time.

HERE WE ARE!!

UPDATE: Kick-off delayed indefinitely for the time being. Severe weather and lightning have been in the area for about an hour now.


Welcome to the second pre-season game. We’re now in the meat of pre-season, so we should start putting a bit more emphasis on more than just fitness, although that’s still the main focus.

Timo Werner and Kepa Arrizabalaga stayed in Orlando, at least the former due to injury. Feel free to speculate on the latter.

Mateo Kovačić makes his pre-season debut; Sterling on the bench, as is Colwill. No Koulibaly. The named bench may not include everyone, which was also the case in Vegas. (Pre-season, huh?)

Thunderstorms are in the area, which could delay things at an outdoor stadium. We have already had a warning. UPDATE: the gates are closed, so they’ll probably have to delay kickoff to get people in even if the storm passes quickly.


Charlotte FC starting XI:
kahlin | Lindsey, Corujo, Sobociński, Fuchs (c), Bronico, Bender, Ruiz, Gaines, Świderski, Reyna

Subs for: Walkes, Jozwiak, Alcivar, Rios, Makoun, Shinyashiki, Vargas, Hegardt, Jones, Sisniega, Afful, Marks, Mora, Romero, McNeill, Santos

Chelsea starting line-up (3-4-3):
Mendi | Emerson, Silva, James | Alonso, Kovačić, Jorginho (c), Hudson-Odoi | Pulisic, Batshuayi, Ziyech

Subs for: Sharman-Lowe, Chilwell, Ampadu, Chalobah, Colwill, Sarr, Gallagher, Mount, Sterling, Havertz


Date hour : Wednesday, July 20, 2022, 7:30 p.m. EDT; 00:30 BST (next day); 5:00 am IST (next day) 8:35 p.m. EDT; 1:35 a.m. BST (next day); 6:35 a.m. IST (next day)
Venue: Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, North Carolina, USA

On TV: nothing (UNITED STATES); nothing (UK); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport Football Plus (NGA); somewhere else
Diffusion: ESPN+ (US); Chelsea TV (UK); Sony LIV (India); DStv now (NGA)



Be great to each other and celebrate, guys!

Source link